Tuesday, February 05, 2019

melting point : the chaudiere books transition,

Ottawa literary publisher Chaudiere Books announces with deeply mixed feelings that the wonderful Invisible Publishing has now taken over our backlist.

Join us on February 15th, 2019 for one last Chaudiere Books event and celebrate this transition as our books find their second home with Invisible. With readings by:

Anita Dolman
Amanda Earl
Jennifer Londry
rob mclennan
Pearl Pirie
Monty Reid
and Chris Turnbull

lovingly hosted by Chaudiere Books co-publisher rob mclennan
with appearances by co-publisher Christine McNair and Invisible Publishing’s Leigh Nash

Friday, February 15, 2019
7pm door / 7:30pm reading
Vimy Brewing Company
145 Loretta Ave N #1, Ottawa, ON

Originally co-founded in 2006 by rob mclennan and Jennifer Mulligan, the press published two dozen books over a ten year period. Christine McNair took over from Jennifer Mulligan as co-publisher in 2012.

A literary press focusing on poetry and literary fiction, Chaudiere Books produced first trade collections by Amanda Earl, Pearl Pirie, Marcus McCann, Chris Turnbull, Meghan Jackson, Roland Prevost, Clare Latremouille and N.W. Lea. The press also published more established writers with trade collections by  Monty Reid, Anne Le Dressay, Michael Bryson, Joe Blades, Andy Weaver and Jennifer Londry. Chaudiere also produced important collected editions by John Newlove and William Hawkins, as well as several anthologies focusing on such varied topics as Calgary experimental writing, Ottawa poets, Ottawa fiction writers and the above/ground press twentieth anniversary. Throughout the press’ ten year history, important editorial contributions were made by other writers to our books. This includes Anita Dolman, Carmel Purkis, Robert McTavish, Cameron Anstee, derek beaulieu, and Sandra Ridley.

Several titles by Chaudiere Books were shortlisted for the Gerald Lampert Award, the City of Ottawa Book Award, and the Archibald Lampman Poetry award. Monty Reid’s Disappointment Island won the Archibald Lampman award in 2007.

We were lucky to have support from the Ottawa International Writers Festival throughout our history and the warm support of the Ottawa literary community. We are sorry to see this chapter end but are delighted that Invisible can take these these books forward.

No comments: