Tuesday, April 03, 2007

The Griffin Poetry Prize Announces the 2007 Canadian and International Shortlist ; An Unprecedented 483 Eligible Books Submitted

TORONTO – April 3, 2007 – Scott Griffin, founder of The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry and David Young, trustee, today announced the Canadian and International shortlist for this year’s prize. The C$100,000 Griffin Poetry Prize is one of the most lucrative poetry prizes in the world – exemplifying the international spirit of the form. The prize is awarded annually for the two best books of poetry, including translations, published in English in the previous year.

Judges John Burnside, Charles Simic and Karen Solie read 483 books of poetry, including 18 translations, received from 15 countries around the globe. The seven finalists – three Canadian and four International – will be invited to read in Toronto at the MacMillan Theatre on Tuesday, June 5, 2007. The winners, who each receive C$50,000, will be announced on Wednesday, June 6, 2007 at the seventh annual Griffin Poetry Prize Awards Evening.

Canadian Shortlist

Airstream Land Yacht • Ken Babstock, House of Anansi Press
Strike/Slip • Don McKay, McClelland & Stewart
Ontological Necessities • Priscila Uppal, Exile Editions

International Shortlist

Tramp in Flames • Paul Farley, Picador
Salvation Blues • Rodney Jones, Houghton Mifflin
Ooga-Booga • Frederick Seidel, Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Scar Tissue • Charles Wright, Farrar, Straus and Giroux

No comments: